Two VERY Deadly Words You Should Stop Using

Posted on May 12, 2016

0


You may remember from your high school chemistry course that the ordinary table salt you use every day to improve the taste of your food is made up of two deadly poisons; sodium and chlorine. Imagine that, two lethal elements come together to form a compound that not only doesn’t kill us, it actually adds aesthetic value to our lives. It makes our food taste better, and since food is such a primary part of our lives, these two toxic elements actually improve our lives when used in conjunction with one another.

In the English language there are two words that when used singularly or isolated from one another, are useful wonderful words. But when they are used in conjunction with one another they form a deadly phrasing compound.

I’m sure you’ve uttered these two words in succession. They seem innocent enough. It seems perfectly logical to use these two words as a pair. And once I point out the dangerous oxymoron that these two words make up, you will realize that you’ve probably used them more times than you will care to admit.

These two words are an evasion that help ensure that Someday never comes. Are you ready for these two words?

Here they are: “I should.”

And after today, you need to wipe these two words from your vocabulary!

So what is so terrible about this phrase? It’s because like an iceberg, you don’t see the entire object. It’s not the visible part of the iceberg that sinks ships. It’s the part that lies hidden underneath the ocean that rips a tear in the hull, sending the ship to its watery grave, and sometimes the crew as well.

“I should,” has an invisible element as well. “I should” is actually the visible part of a five word phrase and it’s the hidden aspect of it that is holding you back from seeing your Someday through.

You see, “I should” is invisibly followed by “but I won’t”

When you utter the words “I should,” you are really saying “I should, but I won’t.”

When you use that phrase with someone in a conversation, what you are saying is, “I agree with you, but I’m not going to do that.”

Maybe a friend of yours at one time suggested that you scale down your life and decrease the size of your overhead because the financial pressure of having to meet all those payments prevents you from enjoying life and you said, “I should (but I won’t).”

And now five years has passed and the bills are still mounting to support your overly large home, your two new cars and the store size selection of clothes in your master bedroom closet. You find yourself working all the time, which keeps you away from your family or simply relaxing on a lazy weekend.

Maybe you’ve reiterated the news to your family that your doctor gave you that you need to start losing weight before it starts impacting your health down the road, and when your family asks you if you will indeed follow the doctor’s advice, you answered, “I should (but I won’t).” And now ten years later, you are even more overweight and your back aches every morning and your feet hurt at the end of every day as they are forced to support your ever increasing weight.

So what are the two words you can use instead?  I will tell you next week in my blog.

Brad Rudisail
Author of the book, “Someday I’m Going To…” (on Amazon)
www.bradinthecloud.com

